Bhagavad Geeta


The Srimad Bhagavad Geeta is the immortal message emanated from the lotus lips of Lord Krishna. The 700 verses in the Geeta is part of the epic Mahabharata.

It is a glorious dialogue between Lord Krishna and Arjuna on the battlefield of Kurukshetra.

“The teachings of the Geeta are universal and eternal and for the welfare of all embracing humanity. The Geeta is the beacon of light for the salvation of mankind which is being swept away by the violent storm of materialism. Scientific and technological advancement alone does not complete one’s evolution. Spiritual awareness and awakening as imparted in the Bhagavad Geeta, elevates one’s perception and guides the devotee to see the existence as one, thereby doing away with social and religious prejudices. Any embodied being who lives in the Divine teachings of the Geeta gives up his mortal self and attains liberation.”

– Swami Hari Har Ji Maharaj

Listen to the Bhagavad Geeta recited by His Holiness Swami Hari Har Ji Maharaj here.

Here are simple summaries of each chapter of the Geeta as given in written discourses by His Holiness Swami Hari Har Ji Maharaj, translated into English by a disciple:

  1. Background of Events Leading to the Mahabharata
  2. Chapter One – The Yoga of Despondency of Arjuna
  3. Chapter Two – The Yoga of Knowledge
  4. Chapter Three – The Yoga of Action
  5. Chapter Four – The Yoga of Renunciation of Action with Knowledge
  6. Chapter Five – The Yoga of Renunciation of Action
  7. Chapter Six – The Yoga of Self Discipline
  8. Chapter Seven – The Yoga of Wisdom and Knowledge
  9. Chapter Eight – The Yoga of the Imperishable Brahman
  10. Chapter Nine – The Yoga of Sovereign Knowledge and Sovereign Mystery
  11. Chapter Ten – The Yoga of Divine Manifestations
  12. Chapter Eleven – The Yoga of Vision of the Cosmic Form
  13. Chapter Twelve – The Yoga of Devotion
  14. Chapter Thirteen – The Yoga of the Field and Knower of the Field
  15. Chapter Fourteen – The Yoga of the Division of the Three Gunas
  16. Chapter Fifteen – The Yoga of the Supreme Person
  17. Chapter Sixteen – The Yoga of Division between the Divine and Demoniac Endowments
  18. Chapter Seventeen – The Yoga of Threefold Division of Faith
  19. Chapter Eighteen – The Yoga of Liberation by Renunciation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: